Grandfather's Barn

Originally built in 1865, Grandfather’s Barn is the only remaining building from the farmstead existing when the land was purchased by the Fair in 1886.

Grandfather’s Barn was closed in 1989 due to dangerous amounts of deterioration, but thanks to a generous $100,000 donation from Vermeer Manufacturing of Pella, the building was reopened on the first day of the 1994 Iowa State Fair.

Renovations were completed by Barn Renovators, Inc. of Winterset and included rebuilding the foundation and batten boards, leveling, re-roofing, painting, and repairing stairs, doors, and windows.

During the Fair, Grandfather's Barn hosts "The Wine Experience," an educational exhibit about Iowa's growing wine industry.